About Rambert Grades

Rambert Grades is a pioneering contemporary dance syllabus born from the partnership between two of the world’s leading contemporary dance organisations: Rambert and Rambert School.

The 8-grade syllabus offers students the opportunity to develop lifelong skills. Rambert Grades encourages young people to own their individuality, be playful, work in a present manner, think independently, relate with others and have confidence in decision making while learning and embodying our three strands, Technique, Performance and Creative. The Rambert Grades syllabus is progressive and inclusive and is designed to be accessible for people from all backgrounds.

Rambert Grades teachers are taught to promote a safe environment where physical explorations can exist without rigidity, yet with focus, discipline and collaboration. Students are seen as individuals and encouraged to express their ideas and discover their unique voices.

 Technique Strand

The technical strand is designed to support each dancer’s technical development as they progress through the grades. Rambert Grades is built on a relevance to professional practice, and teachers are trained to support each student as an individual to explore their full potential.

Performance Strand

Each grade includes solo material from world class choreographers, Hofesh Shechter and Alesandra Seutin, exploring how to create material and improvise, and learning all elements of technical skill to the highest standard, from floorwork to complex leaps.

Creative Strand

The creative strand encourages self-development and a sense of self enterprise. Each individual student will learn to investigate a creative task in group settings, and develop improvisation skills. Students have opportunities to explore and develop movement material for a dance idea with increasing confidence, drawing on their creative expression and individuality of movement.


The grades are split into 3 levels as follows:

Level 1 – grades 1 to 3  – from 8 years with 0 to 1 years contemporary experience

Level 2 – grades 4 and 5 – from 11 years with at least 2 years experience or from Intermediate Foundation level

Level 3 –  grades 6 to 8 – from 14 years with at least 4 years experience or from Advanced Foundation level



Examinations will be held on an annual bases.  Please click  HERE to find out more about Rambert exams